HeteroFoaM Center

Building a Science Bridge Between Synthesis and Materials by Design

An Energy Frontier Research Center established by the
US Department of Energy's Office of Basic Energy Sciences

We are impacting the next generation of scientists.

We are bridging the gap between the unknown and the predictable.

We are leading the world in the research of heterogeneous functional materials.

We are empowering energy innovation.

slider 1 image

Our research is vital to the future of energy science. HeteroFoaM breakthroughs provide tomorrow’s researchers with the science foundations and education necessary to create a secure energy future.

Read about our outreach
and education activities
slider 1 image

HeteroFoaM discoveries are achieving recognition throughout the global science community, and our researchers are publishing papers, filing patents, and presenting at international conferences as experts on the subject.

View our

Our study of heterogeneous functional materials is changing the way the world consumes resources by making scientific advances that enable the creation of new clean energy technologies.
Watch our video to learn more.

slider 1 image

About the HeteroFoaM Center

As one of 46 Energy Frontier Research Centers funded by the U.S. Department of Energy, the HeteroFoaM Center is discovering science fundamentals that lay the groundwork for the creation of clean, renewable energy sources that reduce our dependency on fossil fuels.

Learn more about the HeteroFoaM Center

What is a HeteroFoaM?

HeteroFoaM is Heterogeneous Functional Material that alters fields and flows.


Preethy Parthasarathy recently completed her Ph.D. from Distinguished Prof. Anil Virkar's research group at the University of Utah.

An abstract of her electrochemical system study with Dr. Virkar. Read more. She has accepted an offer from Intel Corporation to work as a Module and Integration Engineer. See DOE poster.


Learn more about our outreach efforts

Featured Investigator

Dr. Kenneth Reifsnider 

Receives the 2014 SEC Faculty Achievement Award at the University of South Carolina

Dr. Reifsnider has been announced as the recipient of the 2014 SEC Faculty Achievement Award at the University of South Carolina. He directs the HeteroFoaM EFRC and the Solid Oxide Fuel Cell Center of Excellence at USC.  To read more about the award click   hereRead Bio.

  • Kyle Brinkman
  • Emily Carter
  • Fanglin (Frank) Chen
  • Wilson Chiu
  • Denis Cormier
  • Mostafa El-Sayed
  • Mikko Haataja
  • Andreas Heyden
  • Feng Liu
  • Meilin Liu
  • Robert McMeeking
  • Ken Reifsnider
  • Anil Virkar
  • Xingjian (Chris) Xue
  • Hans-Conrad Zur Loye

See all of our investigators